Solomon Agbator

#APCPrimaries: Tinubu in early lead after 19 ballot boxes sorted, Osinbajo Storms Out Of Eagles Square

Former Governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, is set to emerge the flagbearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the 2023 elections.

Though the counting of votes is still ongoing at the time of filing this report, votes so far counted show Tinubu is in a comfortable lead.

Tinubu has so far recorded over 70 per cent of votes counted.

Over 2,300 delegates voted at the convention held at the Eagles Square, Abuja.

Amaechi is in distant second place while Osinbajo is taking the third position.

Earlier, seven presidential aspirants had stepped down for Tinubu.

The aspirants that pitched their tents with Tinubu at the convention ground include Governors Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti and Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa.

Others include former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Senator Ajayi Borroffice, ex-Speaker Dimeji Bankole and Mrs Uju Ohanenye.

Yemi Osinbajo, Nigeria’s Vice President and a presidential aspirant in the All Progressives Congress (APC), left Eagles Square early Wednesday morning as it became increasingly evident that his goal of succeeding his boss as the country’s next president may have come to naught.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *